The Road to El Dorado (2000).

I adored this film growing up. Its the story of two con-men, Miguel (Kenneth Branagh) and Tulio (Kevin Kline) who get their hands on the map which will lead them to the fabled ‘city of gold’ El Dorado.

This movie was a big part of my childhood. Aeons ago we had the film on VHS (VHS. Remember those?) and I’ve always remembered the songs. The soundtrack – mostly Elton John – suits the film perfectly and the songs are very catchy indeed. The story is wonderful – a bit farcical, but hey, if I wanted truth I would watch a documentary.

The voice talent was superb and the animation was rich and beautiful. Of course, 15 years later, it is entirely possible to do better but then again the animation used here is so lively it is impossible n0t to fall in love with it each time you watch the movie. The film is rather short in duration – around the 90 minute mark – but its still perfectly wonderful. I’ve never smiled and laughed so much in such a short period of time as I have done when watching this wonderful film.

Of course, it didn’t do very well at the box office and hence there weren’t any sequels. This is a shame, because the story had plenty of scope and could have continued. Alas, watching this film was fun and enjoyable. It will also stay where it belongs. In my childhood memories.

MY RATING: **** / *****

Leave a comment