Fangirl.

This is a bit of a random post, really.

Urban dictionary’s definition of ‘fangirl’:

a rabid breed of human female who is obsessed with either a fictional character or an actor…fangirls congregate at anime conventions and livejournal. Have been known to glomp, grope and tackle when encountering said obsessions,” (SOURCE: urban dictionary.)

This isn’t a film review, as such. It’s not a telly synopsis. It’s almost an update of my north and south post which I posted a while ago.

. Yesterday, i watched the drama (North and South) again because I hadn’t watched it in a while. I have realized that I love it. It is my favourite tv drama / costume drama. lt  has the fantastic pairing of Richard Armitage and Daniela Denby Ashe as John and Margaret respectively.

And this brings me on to my next point. Why do people fall weak at the knees for actors such as Benedict Cumberbatch, Richard Armitage et al? I am not disbelieving this. I agree with it, wholeheartedly. As an aunt once said, ‘they all eat and drink like everyone else,’ And that’s my point. All these actors who have fangirls of approximately 15-65 years falling at their feet like dead leaves…what makes them so irresistable? They are human beings…they have the correct number of appendages.

If you are a fan of Cumberbatch, you are a cumberbitch or 'cumberperson'.

If you are a fan of Cumberbatch, you are a cumberbitch or ‘cumberperson’.

So why do we have an actor-hero-worship thing going on here? I might even have a slight appreciation for Ryan Gosling but that’s as far as it goes…

Sorry about the rambling nature of this post. I don’t know the answer, but if anybody has anything to add then please do. Would be very appreciated.

images

Leave a Reply

