Trance

trance-james-mcavoy

I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. This film was one of the presents I received for my 19th birthday last week.

Trance is a Danny Boyle film about a man who steals a painting and has to use hypnotherapy to remember where it is. The actual premise is incredibly misleading. It makes it sound like the character is just forgetful.

I even went through a stage of thinking that Frank and Simon were the same person and this probably ruined the story for me. Looking on sites such as IMDB is even more confusing because you have angry keyboard warriors overanalyzing the whole thing.

James McAvoy was good in his role of Simon, although I didn’t like Vincent Cassell. I’m sure there’s nothing wrong with his acting ability but for me he will always be that creepy dance teacher in Black Swan.
If anything, I think Trance requires a second viewing to be able to understand it at all. However, the plot seemed to sort of…give up and the audience (and me) walked away feeling dissatisfied. That being said, I can see that it is good for McAvoy to break away from his stereotypical role every now and then.

The film didn’t do too well at the box office. I can see why as well. Its not…its not conventional. And I know there was a film back in 2001 with the same name but I wasn’t aware of this till recently.

And now for the good points. It definitely has something to say about abusive / controlling relationships and the power of suggestion. However, it left me feeling a bit flat. Might watch it again if I am at a loose end, though.

MY RATING: 2 / 5.

Leave a Reply

