The Musketeers Episode 4

b03vcsl7_640_360
‘The Good Soldier’. I am middling about this series, really. I don’t know that to think about it.

There are certainly moments which I watch this series and think I could actually do an OK job of liking it. But sometimes the humour stumbles and the humour is put across awkwardly. This episode included such things as a diplomatic visit from the royal family of Savoy, a mysterious masked man linked with Aramis and a spying plot.

I just don’t think I can get into this series at present. The resolution to the story was predictable but I think the problem is that the episodes don’t sustain my interest for their entirety. However, that being said its good when the backstories of the Musketeers are shown (this week it was Aramis) because it makes them more than just pantomime heroes. The villains, though, are little more than unthreatening comedy villains.

MY RATING: ** / *****

Leave a Reply

