Captain America The Winter Soldier.

15-action-packed-photos-from-captain-america-the-winter-soldier
I went to go and watch Captain America in the cinema last night. I had never seen the previous movie, The First Avenger, but I liked the Winter Soldier.

I suppose watching The Winter Soldier without the First Avenger is not the best idea. I could gather the plot threads particularly easily without having seen The First Avenger, and my only links with Marvel are a Marvel mug…

I think I just neutered myself in one fell swipe there.

Anyway, back to the review.

Solid casting and script, and there were plenty of funny moments which I didn’t really expect in this sort of movie. Chris Evans and Scarlett Johansson worked well together and that was where a lot of the comedic moments came from. I saw a 3D showing and it was good over all (heck, even the 3D marvel logo gave me headaches!). The cinema screening was packed, with the average age being at or around 18-21 years.
Clearly, seeing as there is a new movie in this franchise set to be released in 2016, and if Marvel can churn out more movies like this and make it profitable, then that’s a win-win for Captain America and Marvel fans.
Similarly, the themes which were interwoven which were done with predominance without taking away from the meatiness of the main story. The emergence of The Winter Soldier was also impressive from my point of view, even without the backing of the previous film. There seems to be a lot more to superhero-type films than meets the eye. Now, perhaps I should toddle off and watch The First Avenger?

MY RATING: 3.5 / 5.

One thought on “Captain America The Winter Soldier.

Leave a Reply

