The Three Musketeers (2011).

milady-the-three-musketeers-2011-29093973-1224-816This film was so disappointing.

I know that whenever a new adaptation of the Dumas novel is spewed onto television or cinema, there are always going to be certain expectations. They will always never be ‘right’, or ‘good enough’. I must admit, even though this movie is three years old I was originally sucked into it because of the song done by Take That.

And while this movie was more visually interesting than the BBC adaptation of The Three Musketeer’s, it was still piss-poor and I see it as no more than a bit of silly fun. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters, and the story about the airship was just laughable. The comedy was thick and fast, though. Good, sometimes, but it didn’t save the film for me. The costumes were lavish and beards prolific.

There were plenty of famous faces, but Orlando Bloom playing the character of a comedy villain destroyed any hopes I had of even liking this movie. I am not a fan of him as an actor, but the character was poor. And Matthew MacFayden has been so typecast that I could only see him as Inspector Reid in Ripper Street. Sad, really.

And the 1.5 hrs of running time this movie spanned was just so long I felt as if I was being punished. If I don’t watch it again I won’t feel as if I have lost out. Despite all this, I still can’t decide if this movie is worse than the BBC episodes.

MY RATING: * / *****

Leave a Reply

