The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers.

movies_lotr_the_two_towers_5
The second in the trilogy. As with the previous film, tension builds well from the beginning. I may actually begin to like the trilogy…and then there’s the Hobbit…

To unlearned Lord of the Rings newbies like me, there will always be certain issues with pacing of the films. Give the film an hour to pull you in by the horns and never let you go. You will be hooked. Before now, I’ve always had certain misgivings about films in the epic fantasy genre – the length, plotline, whatever. Perhaps I should read the books at some point then at least it would give solid grounding to the story; fleshing out the story and film to new vividness.

The film wins with its music, costumes and cinematography. In time I personally believe I will have massive respect and affection for the trilogy because its place in film history is marked significantly. Every single shot in the film has beauty. This is the first film to make me feel emotionally involved. I have huge respect for Tolkien – he made a whole universe, which was so deep and vivid that is still talked about in the present day.

I don’t adore this film but it is one of my favourites so far. Its good that the film didn’t really have a very clear beginning / end. It makes it that bit more interesting! Strong performances from Christopher Lee, Elijah Wood, Ian McKellan and others.

MY RATING: **** / *****

 

 

One thought on “The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers.

Leave a Reply

