Lord of the Rings: Return of the King

returnoftheking
So…this is the final film in the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Then on to The Hobbit…

Sorry about the post for #1 being published after #2. I promise you, I did watch them in order, but I rescheduled some posts that’s all. Anyway, back to the blog post…

Whew. Just whew. There are grab-you-round-the-throat moments and then there’s bash-you-in-the-face unexpectedly moments. This movie was one of the latter. I didn’t expect to be so moved by this film. All three films surprised me in many ways but I loved this film most. Not because it was the last of the three but in truth it took me by surprise in its emotional depth. This whole thing has taught me not to judge by first appearances.

Elijah Wood was superb as Frodo (damn you, emotions!), and his Hobbit companion Sam was the epitome of the ‘sidekick’ role that is seen time and time again in film. When Sam had to say goodbye to Frodo, it broke my heart and I really didn’t expect it to make me so sad.
Watching the trio of films, I was coming into it completely blind because I’d avoided the genre for so long. I haven’t read the Lord of the Rings books either, which I should definitely do at some point. Either that or purchase the extended editions of the movies.

The films will always excel in the cinematography of each scene. Each scene is a piece of art. The final battle scene was just so epic on a grand scale. All of the actors were masterful (I don’t know why I like Viggo Mortensen – I just do!) and Lord of the Rings is one of the most underestimated film series probably ever. It has something for everyone in its Mordor-y depths. If I was a serious filmmaker, I’d want to draw influence from the Lord of the Rings cinematography.

I’m about 10 years late in discovering this film trio but its been completely worth it.

MY RATING: ***** / *****

One thought on “Lord of the Rings: Return of the King

Leave a Reply

