About Time (2013.)

5681_D040_00629
An unexpected weepie about a young man, Tim, who has a special gift – the ability to travel through time. He uses his gift to change the future. The film stars Domhnall Gleeson and Rachel McAdams.

When I was watching this, I didn’t want to watch a rehash of Time Traveller’s Wife. My thoughts on the film went up and down as the film itself progressed. It was awkward and endearing but with its fair share of bumps along the way. Tim uses his time-travelling skill to hone his relationship with his future wife, Mary.

Some people on message boards have said some unflattering things about this film. I know that everyone is entitled to their opinion about a film but to fully enjoy this film you have to abandon all your preheld theories about time travel and paradoxes. Yeah, massive plotholes seem to exist but don’t spend the whole film trying to find the plot-holes because then you will be unable to enjoy the rest of the film. The knowledge of events which his time-travelling abilities give him make some of Tim’s scenes very awkward but I guess that’s the whole point. Mary’s love of Kate Moss was a bit random and was forgotten as soon as the scene was over.

Apart from that, it was a good movie over all. Lots of funny moments that had me screaming with laughter, but there were moments of thoughtfulness too. If I had the ability to time travel and change my past I would do, but I suppose things are meant to happen in a certain way.

MY RATING: *** / *****

Leave a Reply

