Django Unchained (2012).

source: collider.com

A ‘spaghetti western’ about Django, a slave, and Dr Schultz, a bounty hunter.

I don’t usually approach Westerns at all. However, my sister spoke very highly about Christoph Waltz, who is one of her favourite actors. This convinced me to watch this film. After all, everyone always mentions it. So, I thought, what have I got to lose?

This film is over 2 and a half hours long. There are times when my attention wandered, but when the film gets wrapped up at the end I guess all the film’s runtime was needed for setting up plot, characters etc. Christoph Waltz was really good as Schultz, and Jamie Foxx’s characterization of Django himself was good to see. The rest of the film was spent playing ‘Actor I-Spy’!

I’m not too bothered about the inaccuracies in the film. If I wanted something to be accurate, I’d watch a documentary. The fact that such inaccuracies exist further proves the film’s ability to satirize the whole genre itself and therefore not take itself too seriously. It was interesting to see Tarentino have a cameo in his own film, which I imagine he does on a regular occurrence.

The soundtrack was great – completely unexpected, and added something completely new to the usual Western genre.
It’s great to see a film where Di Caprio doesn’t play the leading man or doesn’t get top billing for his role. The film had its funny moments, but there were times during the film where I didn’t know whether to laugh or not. I have never really seen a Tarentino movie. Indeed, this will hopefully be my last one for a while unless I watch one of his films armed with cushions, drinks and snacks due to the longevity and temptation to walk away and find something else to do.

While some have described the violence as rather bloody, indeed it is but its tone over all is not as violent as films such as 12 Years a Slave. Some scenes there made me genuinely uneasy, while here it just made me think they must have to run out of tomato soup and red paint at some point, surely?
django-unchained-2

MY RATING: *** / *****

 

 

2 thoughts on “Django Unchained (2012).

Leave a Reply

