Recess (1997-2001).

Recess-e1290916209361
I can’t believe I’m reviewing this…

I grew up loving this TV show. It was a big part of my childhood, and I got (gasp!) the video of one of the movies on video for Christmas many years ago. It was a massive part of my childhood, which I am not yet ready to let go.

Looking back on this series with an adult (pahahahah!) perspective, I must admit that this series was better than I thought. OK, it wasn’t seamless. But for a kids’ show, it had quite a lot of awareness, especially when it came to politics and society. It had subtle humour, and the animation was delightful, if not a bit bitty in some places. The kindergarteners were clearly an obvious nod to the kids from Lord of the Flies.

Even though the kids are supposed to be in 4th grade (that makes them about 10…) this cartoon is for kids of all ages. There is so much a person can identify with, no matter how old they are. Of course, as I said, not all the episodes are good but I miss this show so much.

MY RATING: 3.5 / 5.

Leave a Reply

