If I Stay (2014).

IIS_03150.jpgA promising young cellist, Mia, has her whole life ahead of her – until a car accident changes everything. Will Mia choose life or death? Starring Chloe Moretz.

Its shown from Mia’s perspective and she narrates it as if talking to a sister or a friend. As Mia looks on helplessly as the doctors fight to save her life and the life of her family, she looks so very lonely. That’s the saddest thing of all.

My sister lent me this DVD in the first place and noted that the story is aimed towards teenagers. I knew from the offset that this film would be the sort of thing I would have loved way back in 2010 when I was 16! I usually don’t have much truck with squelchy teen movies because the lack of character and  / or tangible plot means that the whole film suffers. But the one thing I did identify with was the theme of family togetherness which ran through it. Thankfully (touch wood) I haven’t lost any close family members yet but it really does make me appreciate them that bit more.

Admittedly this film suffers a slow massacre at the hands of trite quotes which could be expected from a young adult movie. It is often the case when the films contain potted morals about the usual stuff – love, life and letting go. My feelings upon this film finishing were threefold:

1. It was a good film but obviously written for teens (typical teen romance as just one example…). I would have loved it had I been 16…

2. It teaches about the importance of family.

3. Cutting back the film just a bit to the fade to white could have left Mia’s fate comfortably obscure and left up to the audience to decide in their own minds what her ultimate fate was.

Would I buy this on DVD given the chance? Nah. Would I watch it again? Nah. Would I recommend it as perfect viewing to sixteen year olds? Probably.

MY RATING: ** / *****

 

Leave a Reply

