High Society (1956).

MV5BNzQwNTc0NjM1OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjUxODMyNw@@._V1_SX640_SY720_Sweet little musical about a jazz musician who wants his ex-wife back. But there’s one problem – she’s about to marry someone else! Starring Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra and Grace Kelly.

This is another musical which I have associated with my early love of film. I must’ve been about 15 when I got it as part of a musicals box set for Christmas. I watched the DVD on my old clunky Windows 95 PC. End of nostalgia.

The musical is based on the film The Philadelphia Story (1940), starring Katherine Hepburn, Cary Grant, James Stewart and John Howard.

the-philadelphia-story-stillUnfortunately I have never seen The Philadelphia Story so I can’t compare the two. Of course, while High Society is a bit of fun it isn’t particularly memorable. As in, people aren’t very likely to have heard of it despite its rather opulent cast. The songs are quite good. My favourite one is probably ‘Who Wants to be a Millionare?.’

The script isn’t very strong and it can be rather clunky. Grace Kelly WAS beautiful in this and wore some very pretty outfits but some of her dialogue just seemed so pretentious. It was probably to do with the characterization of Tracy Lord, but it was as if they were having to make up for Tracey’s lack of singing by making her have overly pretentious dialogue which would have suited a play more than anything else. 89f3cafe4e61e80244022af824c56380

One of my favourite characters though in the film was Liz Imbrie, played by the superb Celeste Holm. Her character just came across as really bubbly and likeable.

It is a nice little film but not my favourite musical of all time. However I would not pass up the chance to watch it again when its next on the TCM movie channel.

MY RATING: **.5 / *****

 

Leave a Reply

