Telstar: the Joe Meek Story (2008)

This is not the sort of film I usually review, but it was on BBCi Player and looked interesting. I had no prior knowledge of who Joe Meek was before watching this film.

Something the film certainly got right is the 1960s atmosphere and interiors. As I said, I had no knowledge of Meek’s music or who he even was when I watched the film. If anything, it has encouraged me to do further research.

Within its depths, there are a smattering of now famous faces. However, at its heart is the representation of homosexuality at a time where it was still illegal. Throughout the film’s entirety it gets very dark indeed but yet I did not feel incredibly invested in the characters.

Having noticed Tom Burke as Geoff Godard, I foolishly thought he was going to be a more central character because of his arrival at the start of the film. Of course, I was wrong but he was still a strong presence in the film anyway.

MY RATING: **.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

