Forrest Gump (1994)

Movie about Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks) a man who is eluded by the love of his life but still manages to be present at many important events in 20th century American history.

I thought I’d written a blogpost about this but it would appear not.

I love this film. While it doesn’t make me a dribbling wreck anymore, it is still a wonderful film where Tom Hanks’s acting yet again sparkles. The shine on this film has not diminished, despite it being over 20 years since its release. A young Haley Joel Osment  plays Forrest’s son, Forrest Jnr and the relationship between father and son does not come up till near the end but is still just as tragic and wonderful.

Gary Sinise’s portrayal as Forrest’s army lieutenant Dan Taylor was a rare jewel. From a renewed viewing of the film I have also sensed that he represents the indoctrinated American patriotism and the fatalities of destiny. When he and Forrest see each other again before Forrest’s wedding at the end, it made me want to tear up because the two were meeting again having been through a great deal. Having faced the indignity of being an amputee post-Vietnam, the lieutenant now had happiness with someone he loved and also had – in Forrest’s words – ‘magic legs’.

Anything I say about this film will be disappointingly meagre in comparison to how it truly is. I have only seen it a handful of times but even though I have stopped collapsing in a paroxysm of snot and tears every time I watch it, new things within the film will never cease to touch my heart because at the core of it this film is a film of human experience and human emotion.

MY RATING: **** / *****

Leave a Reply

