Se7en (1995)

Fantastic film about a veteran detective and his rookie partner trying to track down a killer whose modus operandi is the seven deadly sins. Starring Brad Pitt, Morgan Freeman and Kevin Spacey.

I watched this film back in first year but it wasn’t until now that I truly appreciated its true greatness. It is dark; very grim, with a cold heart. The atmosphere is unflinching, and the acting is excellent.

Kevin Spacey’s chilling portrayal of the killer, John Doe, was haunting. I feel like I would run out of adjectives if I had to extoll the virtues of everyone involved in this film, but I digress. It doesn’t play up to traditional happy endings and that works in its favour.

Brad Pitt was excellent (wow, I never thought I’d say that!) and he paired well with Morgan Freeman. The film was excellently directed, with grotesque cinematography. This takes place in a nameless town, where the victims were destroyed by their own sins and greed runs rampant. It could be anywhere.

A super movie. I just don’t have the words to adequately describe my thoughts about it.

MY RATING: ***** / *****

Leave a Reply

