Pocahontas II: Journey to a New World (1998)

This film is a sequel to the 1995 film, Pocahontas. Unfortunately this sequel did not get a theatrical release, and went straight-to-video.

My feelings about this film are rather mixed. I liked the original film and yet, this sequel felt like it was a 1 hr TV special and not related to the previous film at all. It is, however, the more historically accurate of the two films. And by more historically accurate, I do mean tenuously linked to historical accuracy.

I don’t think that this film was needed, quite frankly. Most of the songs were boring too (apart from possibly ‘Where do I go from Here?’) and incredibly pretentious. Jammed in just for the sake of it. The animation was appalling and while the backdrops were certainly detailed but it was annoying that they put a background character in medieval costume. It was infuriating and incompetent.

It was clumsy to bring in John Rolfe as Pocahontas’s new love interest. Yes, of course it is historically accurate but this is supposed to be Disney! As a result, bringing John Smith back in again made it seem like they were angling for more of a guy-and-his-sidekick stance. Incredibly annoying and even as a child watching this originally I hated it because it was poor compensation compared to the original and the muddling of eras confused me, even back then.

There were a few funny moments in this film, however. At least, moments which tried desperately to be funny. It was a pitiful, pathetic effort and nothing redeems this film. At all.

Avoid at all costs.

MY RATING: * / *****

 

One thought on “Pocahontas II: Journey to a New World (1998)

  1. I know I watched this as a kid when it first came out, but I happened to catch part of this on TV the other day and you’re right, the animation is appalling. It’s awful. I know it’s more accurate, but damn it, I liked Pocahontas and John Smith. At least little me did when the first one came out.

Leave a Reply

