Chicago (2002)

This musical explores celebrity, scandal and corruption in Jazz Age Chicago.

Yet another film which I have only approached now. My impressions were of LOTS of leg and plenty of glitzy song and dance numbers. All of them are beautifully choreographed and incredibly catchy. The costumes are fantastic and the film will doubtlessly seduce you as it unfolds.

Renee Zellweger and Catherine Zeta Jones as the two leading ladies were both fantastic. In this film, there is minimal character development  because all of the push is behind the bright glitzy dance numbers. That’s fine, in this case. If you want a film that is just spectacle and not much else, then this is the movie-musical for you.

In this case, Zeta Jones trumps all as Velma. The song ‘All That Jazz’ epitomizes the whole film and it is also the song to which I knew of so in this way it establishes a quasi-familiarity for me. Never in a musical has murder been so lightly treated. Men aren’t painted in a good light in this film. They’re either scoundrels and cads or complete pushovers. Read into that what you will.

I liked this film and I’m glad I watched it but I don’t like it enough to put it on my Top 10 Films list. However, this film had me tapping my feet and clicking my fingers through almost the entire runtime.

MY RATING: *** / *****

 

 

Leave a Reply

