The Sound of Music (1965)

I was surprised to find that in the entire history of this blog I have not reviewed this film. This film has always been a cornerstone of my childhood, and even to this very day.

Based on Maria von Trapp’s memoir: The Story of the Trapp Family Singers, this movie is a squelchy piece of sickly sweet nothingness. However, it also has a great deal of heart and is the sort of film to make me smile whenever I’m feeling down.

It’s one of those guilty pleasure movies which I can’t help but love. Of course, the movie has more holes than Swiss cheese and the characterisations are cardboard cut outs and the plot is incredibly flimsy (because of course climbing a mountain will always be more dramatic than simply taking a train journey, right? RIGHT?!).

Visually, however, this film is marvellous. Sweeping camera work, and glorious visuals. Frames are busy with movement, and the score is pretty decent too. The acting choices are questionable but rather sweet. Julie Andrews was good as Maria, and many times proved that although the character could be fun and silly, the character wasn’t just one-track and utterly forgettable with no spectrum of believable emotion.

So perhaps this movie is a treacly mess but I will always love it because it is one of the first films to inspire my love of film, of which I am presently nurturing. Who doesn’t love a Rogers and Hammerstein musical?

MY RATING: **** / *****

One thought on “The Sound of Music (1965)

  1. This movie was part of my childhood. I think this is the best Rodgers and Hammerstein musical ever. I agree with you that how can anyone not love Rodgers and Hammerstein. I finally saw the stage show last year and the musical became better then ever. This musical has heart and has so much meaning. It is one of the first musicals I ever loved.

Leave a Reply

