Ghost (1990)

Movie about a banker, Sam Wheat (Patrick Swayze) who comes back as a ghost to make sure his girlfriend, Molly (Demi Moore) is safe from his killer, and enlists the help of psychic Oda Mae Brown (Whoopi Goldberg) to protect her.

This is one of the films which I thought I had written about before, but it would seem not. I have always watched this film or been aware of it in some form. It has been about three years since I last watched it, and I feel that this gives me a fresh perspective to this review.

Of course watching this film did not leave me as overawed as when I first saw it. The special effects could be better from a modern perspective but its still a very solid film nonetheless. The romantic / sentimental element of the film is incredibly corny but rather sweet, and for what its worth I think I will always have a soft spot for this film.

Personally I think its quite difficult to define what made Swayze a good actor because he was caught between a rock and a hard place – playing either heartthrobs or attempts at macho characters. All the other talent was moderately good and had a sprinkling of comedy in it which I probably appreciated more watching it now than I did a few years before. A great deal of the comedy comes mainly from Whoopi Goldberg.

While this will not regrettably make my Top 10 list I still appreciate it as a piece of cinema and it was one of the films which helped to define my love of film. The musical score is also something pretty special too.

MY RATING: ***.5 / *****

 

2 thoughts on “Ghost (1990)

Leave a Reply

