The Adventures of Barry McKenzie (1972)

Image result for the adventures of barry mckenzie movie stillsCrude, irreverent Aussie Bazza (Barry Crocker) is left a request in his father’s will to go to England and absorb the culture. What could possibly go wrong?

I wasn’t too sure what to think of this film. For certain, if not for it being on the syllabus for my undergraduate film course, I wouldn’t have touched it with a barge pole to be honest.

However, at a grand old running time of nearly 2 hours, it is a whip-roaring adventure to be sure. I think I enjoyed it more because I came to it with absolutely zero pretensions. It had a slow start but all in all it was rather fun.

This film trades entirely, it seems, upon satire and stereotype. Some might even call it crude. However, it was rather enjoyable as Bazza bumbled around, encountering plenty of Good Ol’ England. This film, while not perfect, was a really enjoyable movie to watch. In the era of widespread offence at every step, this film is a good way of reminding England of its foibles.

It was a fun way to spend two hours of my day but sadly I’m not too sure about if I would enjoy it were I to watch it again. Perhaps my delight in the comedy comes from the unexpectedness of it. I’m not entirely sure if my feelings about the one eyed trouser snake, vegemite and British public school stereotypes would be the same if I saw the film for a second or third time. Fun though.

MY RATING: *** / *****

Leave a Reply

