Strictly Ballroom (1992)

Image result for strictly ballroomA dance film about a dancer, Scott (Paul Mercurio) who battles to determine his own personal dance style and still win the Pan-Pacific Grand Prix Dancing Championship. Directed by Baz Luhrmann.

I’m not too keen on dance films to be honest. I have no knowledge of that world and most of them just seem overblown and sated with cliche. This reminded me too much of Dirty Dancing and the plot was incredibly predictable.

I should’ve known this film was a Baz Luhrmann creation. It seems to want to cram so much into its runtime that it jumps from place to place with little room for breath. The acting was good enough for that in a dance film and if I had to place this film in my estimations it would have to be something akin to a feel-good movie or the like.

It was fun, but dance films for me have very limited replay value because I don’t find them that exciting after a while. Some of the movie was quite funny but ultimately its one of those films which looks even more flimsy the longer you look at it.

I also hate the cliche of a girl becoming more attractive after the removal of her glasses. It’s a trope of film which has survived for too long and while I understand this film is deliberately playful with tropes, the ugly-duckling-turned-swan trope is one of the more annoying ones.

So…while this film is quite fun and worth a watch, it won’t be on my Best Films list any time soon.

MY RATING: *** / *****

Leave a Reply

