Wolf Creek (2005)

Image result for wolf creek 2005A group of backpackers are taken captive by a psychopathic bushman, Mick (John Jarratt)

I avoided this film for a few years after watching it back in 2011 when I was in sixth form college. It was the most horrible film I’d seen in ages (never being much of a horror fan) and didn’t watch it again until November this year.

While I wasn’t starting in horror so much this time, the horror of the film has never really left me. It is a brutal film – that cannot be denied. It just seems so raw and unrelenting, with John Jarratt’s Mick proving to be the most frightening of all.

Despite this somewhat positive review, I am not going to give it a glowing 5* rating. It’s not the sort of thing I would watch again, just because despite the passing of time the horror of it has still stayed with me in part from the beginning. Australian horror seems to also have the environment on its side when creating horrific environs for their characters to reside in and to meet their fatal ends.

However, I will demur to comment on the lack of wolves in this film.

MY RATING: *** / *****

Leave a Reply

