Iron Man (2008)

Image result for Iron Man 2008An industrialist, Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jnr) builds a powerful exoskeleton to become the superhero Iron Man.

When watching superhero films, there is a high possibility that I have not read the comic book from which it derives.

Even if I had always been aware of the Iron Man films, in this case I was not a fan of the films or the comic books when the film originally came out. Perhaps this makes my view very one-sided, but its still worth consideration all the same.

For what its worth, this film was solid to say the least. At times I felt my mind wandering but that might just be me as someone who is a bit absent minded and it is not a reflection of the film itself.

The humour of the film was a bit hit and miss at the best of times. I’m not too sure about Downey Jnr as Stark. Keeping in mind that my knowledge of superhero films and comics is zero to nil at best and Downey Jnr just comes across at times as if he is a kid trying to be funny and failing drastically.

Perhaps my gender is working against me, as the superhero genre has been predisposed to be unfortunately quite a masculine genre in itself (although there are a few exceptions). I will by all means explore further films of a similar genre in the future at some point in the future, no doubt. I didn’t adore this film but I didn’t dislike it either. That is certainly a precarious place to be, film wise, but its a worthy one just the same.

MY RATING: **.5 / *****

 

Leave a Reply

