Pearl Harbor (2001)

Image result for pearl harbor 2001 stillsTwo friends, Rafe (Ben Affleck) and Danny (Josh Hartnett) enlist as pilots during World War Two. They and their love interest, Evelyn (Kate Beckinsdale) end up being reunited in Hawaii shortly before the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor.

This film had always been in my peripheral vision for many years, until I actually got around to watching it recently. However, I had watched plenty of reviews of the film itself, so within itself the film didn’t have many surprises within it.

I feel bad for giving it such a mediocre review, but I fear it must happen. To begin with, the film was about three hours long, which meant that over its course I began to not really care about the characters because my interest went pretty quickly. In the same way, I feel as if the characters weren’t really differentiated which squandered the possibility of any characters being likable or even tangibly constructed.

I think the film’s biggest weakness was its badly written script. I think it tries to be memorable and romantic, but the dialogue was too corny and it just made me want to cringe. In the same way, the central romantic plot arcs were so badly written. I kept on wondering if I should care for how the two respective relationships turned out, because neither were memorable. I have no idea how accurate the historical side of things was, but given the quality of the rest of the film I imagine its accuracy isn’t all that good.

The director, Michael Bay’s specialty seems to be with action films but unfortunately even in this instance the film seemed to be quite lacking. I feel like it was striving too hard to be about how many explosions they could have in the space of five seconds, rather than making us care about the fates of the characters or the actual true history which was being explored within the film itself. Ultimately, it all felt too squashed together without any care towards making this film memorable or even competent.

So, alas, this must join the ranks of the Top 10 Worst Films. I can’t really say that I’m all that surprised though, to be honest.

MY RATING: * / *****

 

Leave a Reply

