Un Chien Andalou (1929)

Image result for un chien andalou

A conventionally plotless silent surrealist film.

I am honestly not too sure what to think about this film. Seeing as it has no conventional plot, I feel that I am unjust in reviewing it in the traditional way.

However, surrealism can always be viewed with surprise bordering on unease. Having studied it in previous years of my university studies, I still feel as if surrealism is something you cannot enjoy organically. In the same way, the extremes of craziness within the film can be excused seeing as it was a collaboration between surrealist artist, Salvador Dali and Luis Bunuel.

I can see why this film had the renown it did, and the images within the film itself are certainly stark. I think by modern standards the true force of the shock value is somewhat lost, because as an audience we have the supposed buffer of a readily available internet. At the time of its release, it must’ve been very shocking. That being said, I found the scene involving breasts to be slightly disturbing only because it was such a massive breach and felt invasive despite the fact it was onscreen.

Ultimately, I’m not too sure what to think of this film. Of course it influenced later films, but then again that’s to be expected.

MY RATING: *** / *****

One thought on “Un Chien Andalou (1929)

  1. I agree, its sets out to shock and it is still quite shocking now, perhaps for slightly different reasons. I guess almost 100 years on you have to review its historical legacy more than its content. Thanks for the reminder of this influential classic.

Leave a Reply

