Fifty Shades Darker (2017)

Image result for 50 shades darker movie stillsSequel to 50 Shades of Grey, this sees Christian Grey (Jamie Dornan) battle with his past demons while Anastasia (Dakota Johnson) invokes the wrath of Christian’s previous submissive.

While I have no doubt that the blog will link you back to the blogpost I wrote a while ago for the first film, I thought it would be worth watching this film for the sake of it if nothing else. I did plan to go and see it originally on Valentine’s Day by myself but didn’t want to look like a loner without my extra large cucumber and tub of Vaseline.

This film did have potential and scope for character growth. It was somewhat admirable how it was set up for Anastasia to have growth away from Christian. However, this was terribly short lived and the film lapsed into predictability.

The film was in no way erotic or arousing. It just felt very tedious over all and I realized how little I cared about characters of their motivations within the central story arc. I didn’t really care what happened to anyone and didn’t even care about Christian’s backstory. The cause-effect within the film was also really shoddy and made me want to bang my head on the table many times, even with the forewarning I’d received from watching and reading other reviews of the film.

It’s representation of people was boring and I think the narrative tried to string audiences along with the idea that Christian and Ana’s relationship was really romantic, however it just felt like such a massive waste of time. Any other male character is put across as a rapist who Christian must save Ana from, and from when his character is reintroduced within the film, Christian goes from 0 to creepy incredibly rapidly.

I wish I’d written a proper list of the things which annoyed me about the film. I just have no idea why these books and films are popular. However, some of the soundtrack songs were pretty good which I guess saves it from being a cesspool of a film, however this is the film’s only redeeming feature.

MY RATING: * / *****

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

