The Knick (2014-2015) First Impressions.

Image result for The KnickThis another film / TV show that my sister recommended to me. She is a massive fan of Clive Owen’s work, and this television series looked interesting. In this blogpost I will talk about my first over all impression of the show.

Historical based television shows will always be a massive winner for me. Clive Owen is also a good actor, so both of these factors made the show look to be interesting at the very least.

The tone of the opening episode feels very murky, and makes you feel in the same way by atmospherically dropping you into the mire. The characterizations of those working within the hospital involve you from the get go, where surgery is a losing game and the surgeons (especially John Thackery) all have their personal demons to fight.

I can’t wait to watch more episodes. This show has got me hooked, and its a pity it was cancelled (even though I have a pretty good idea of how the second series ends…). However, perhaps my love of the show is perhaps a bit premature. Even so, I was impressed with how solid the episode was, especially because it was only a pilot episode.

I can’t wait to watch the other episodes in the future.

MY RATING: ****.5 / *****

Leave a Reply

