Handmaid’s Tale (2017) First Impressions.

Image result for Handmaid's Tale 2017In a dystopian society, fertile women, The Handmaidens, are forced into sexual servitude for wealthy couples.

I thought this drama would be interesting to see because I had seen the original film from 1990, and personally I felt as if this could breathe new life into a very haunting story. I also recently purchased the book and with hopefully review it soon.

I felt that within the first episode of this series, the tension was built subtly while also maintaining the ensuing threat which exists in dystopian narratives. At the same time, I feel that the narrative of Handmaid’s Tale itself is a dystopia which is not quite outside the realms of possibility. I don’t think I breathed at all during the first episode.

It is brilliantly acted, with a strong cast of actors who portray their characters well. I found out that there will be a second series as well. Hopefully this will be done well, and it would be certainly interesting to see if it is faithful to the original source material or tries to deviate beyond it.

This series is also interesting as far as I can see so far because it does not try to demonize men and praise women. Both are painted as equally flawed as characters, which is interesting.

I can’t wait to watch more episodes. This may be one of the few shows where I will endeavor to avoid spoilers for as long as possible.

MY RATING: **** / *****

Leave a Reply

