Burke and Hare (2010)

Image result for Burke and Hare movie 2012

Black comedy about murderous duo Burke and Hare in their quest to acquire fresh cadavers for medical dissections.

I’m only vaguely aware of the Burke and Hare murders but that isn’t an impediment to me enjoying the film. It was another movie I watched from BBCi Player, because I really don’t think I would have sought this film out under my own steam.

It has plenty of comedic moments, mainly centred around blood and guts and comic gore. I laughed out loud many times, however I don’t think this is the sort of comedy I would revisit. Serkis and Pegg work well together but yet again the comedy comes from the physicality more than anything else.

Isla Fisher as the central female character was passable enough in her endeavours as a prostitute with ambition to bring an all-female Macbeth production to the stage. The “I did it for love” line at the end just seemed really stupid and pointless. However, while this comedy was fun it is not really worth a rewatch any time soon.

MY RATING: ***.5 /*****

Leave a Reply

