Chastity Bites (2013)

Image result for chastity bites movie
A feminist blogger tries to stop Liz Batho (Louise Griffiths) from killing the virgin girls in her high school in order to stay young and beautiful.

This was a film I stumbled across while bored and going through the film listings on the Sky Movie store. I picked a genre at random and the result was this film. It was trying to sell itself as a horror comedy.

I went in completely plot blind to this film, although after a short time the eventualities end up staring the audience in the face. This film really doesn’t do anything particularly adventurous and at times was painfully difficult to watch due to its stupidity.

There is no character deviation aside from standard archetypes and cliches. Half way through I found myself not caring what happened to any of the characters at all, and even though this film is only about 80 minutes long it felt painfully slow at times. I think it’s supposed to be parody but I’m not sure and the parody within itself isn’t even funny.

I think it tried to be a feminist movie but fell short of the mark. While it doesn’t take itself too seriously (and you shouldn’t either) neither does it impart anything particularly useful when trying to be satirical. Perhaps it is my fault for picking a film at random, and perhaps I’ll try to do it less in future.

I think this film just might be a tentative addition to my Worst Films List.

MY RATING: * / *****

Leave a Reply

