Pet (2016)

Image result for Pet 2016A second chance at a crush for a quiet animal shelter worker turns deadly.

I’m not too sure what to think of this film. I came across it by chance, and watched it because after all, what have I got to lose? While it wasn’t awful, it wasn’t brilliant either. Confused? Let me explain.

While not setting out to be particularly clever with its plot, the film shows how easy it is to infiltrate a person’s social media. It felt like a warped rom com of sorts, as I’m sure we’ve all seen those 1980s and 1990s romcoms where the man of the moment impresses his girl through persistence.

There was gore enough for me, and I don’t think I would honestly want to watch the film again. It had potential to be a good film as the power dynamic shifted between the two main protagonists. However, because all of the main body of the film happened within the last 30 minutes of the film I realized that I didn’t care about what happened to the characters and even felt indifferent towards their motivations. It tries to make strong gendered arguments but doesn’t quite cross the finish line. However, the ending was not quite unexpected but rather chilling. That is perhaps why this film won’t end up on my Top 10 Worst Films List.

If you are a part of the horror film aficionado community then check this out. Otherwise, it is not a great loss if you don’t watch it. Don’t expect great things from it.

MY RATING: ** / *****

Leave a Reply

