Drive (2011)

Ryan-Gosling-Drive-movie-image-6The Driver (Ryan Gosling) a part-time movie stuntman and auto repair dealer gets in trouble when he befriends his neighbour, Irene (Carey Mulligan) whose husband is in prison.

I’m going to start out by saying – this isn’t my sort of movie. The Film Society at my university put it on and I thought ‘why the hell not?’

Gosling has never disappointed in his film roles. He usually plays the romantic archetype but here he is like Travis Bickle from Taxi Driver…
This film was probably a bit too violent, but obviously their influence must have been ‘how to creatively murder as many people as possible in under 100 minutes?’. If these sort of movies are your thing, then that’s cool. They’re jut not mine.
The tension was good, and the soundtrack was pretty cool too. I tried to keep a vague body count in my head but gave up after about 5. On message boards they’re extolling this film for various reasons. That’s fine – that’s your opinion. Personally, though, I think if I am to find any deeper meaning in this film then I may need  second viewing and I have no desire to do that that any time soon.

MY RATING: ** / *****

 

Leave a comment